comment 0

Missing the point

You should pursue Medical, it suits your behavior, and moreover no one in our family is a Doctor yet “, I recall my Dad saying. Fast forward to the present, I’m a techie caged to his laptop seven hours a day, and then some more for personal work, poor eyes. The drag of routine is taking its toll but I’m starting to ponder as to why I complain at all. The constant urge to escape this chaos seems like a cliché, and all the rants I hear, I fail to fathom, and this quote from Fight Club makes sense, COMPLETELY.

“We’re the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our great war is a spiritual war. Our great depression is our lives. We’ve all been raised on television to believe that one day we’d all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars, but we won’t. And we’re slowly learning that fact. And we’re very, very pissed off”.

But to be working at a place and not being able to see how your work influences the people around you with your own eyes is well.., a bummer. No wonder many people lack job satisfaction. I see many inspiring people around me, some having a fraction of the comfort and resources that most of us can afford, doing things which have the potential to help people around the world regardless of their economic status. Not the app developers, the tech giants or the government, just ordinary people trying to make a difference and I can only imagine the kind of contentment they get by doing so, and I am jealous. I can clickity-clack on the keyboard all day long, sending in a stream of characters through fibers in the form of light, making changes which determine what others see when they visit a customers website, but what I will never be able to experience is the kind of reach that my pressing of the Enter Key has, and that’s very sad.

Maybe there’s no need for escapades every single time we feel constricted though I completely encourage travel. There’s an opportunity for a lot of us to touch lives, and maybe, just maybe, feel AND be a bit more purposeful. If we keep the money factor aside, I truly believe Journalists, Social workers, Teachers and the likes feel more content with what they do, as they’re required to connect and interact with people closely, and this list includes, no prizes for guessing, Doctors. Factoring in that the only courses we Indian kids are wholeheartedly encouraged to pursue are Engineering and Medical, what my Dad said back then is starting to make sense, though the fact that I’m hemophobic reassures me of my choice. Also, no doctors in the family yet incase you were wondering.

Don’t miss the last 3 minutes of this talk

Leave a Reply

